Connect with us


Rose Chelimo leads 21 foreign athletes confirmed for Sirikwa Classic

Rose Chelimo leads 21 foreign athletes confirmed for Sirikwa Classic

The 2017 World Marathon Champion, Rose Chelimo will lead strong elite field at the 3rd Edition of the Sirikwa Classic Cross Country championships, a world Athletics Tour- Gold series slated for February 3, 2024 at Lobo Village in Kapseret, Uasin Gishu County.

The 34 year-old who will be the oldest athlete in the women’s field will tag along her compatriot, the 23 year-old Roselidah Jepketer as they prepare to tackle one of the hardest course in the world.

Uganda will have their hopes on a solo athlete, Joy Cheptoyek who is also the reigning 10K Facsa Castellón champion.

Tanzania has sent three representatives led by Jackson Grace Charles, Nahhay John Wele and Peter Gidoska while Germany has sent the largest contingent of four athletes led by Abraham Filmon, Felix Nadeborn, Maltby Kate, Pfeiffer Hendrik and Ulbrich Tobias.

Republic of South Africa has sent three athletes led by Collins Kgadima, Keaton Stansfeld and Xaba Glenrose while Ukraine has also sent three athletes namely, Nemchenko Marina, Mevsha Mykola and Shafar Vitaly.

Kenya’s fierce rivals, Ethiopia, will be represented by the reigning Africa U20 3000m champion, Anley Yeshaneh Asmarech while Romania will have their hopes on the 2021 World U20 3000m steeplechase bronze medallist Stella Rutto and the 2011 BestFighter World Cup in KickBoxing and martial arts Gavril Stefan Iulius, who is the oldest athlete in the men’s category and is also the former double National Record holder in 5km and 10km.


  1. Jackson Grace Charles (TAZ)
  2. Joy Cheptoyek             (UGA)
  3. Maltby Kate                 (GER)
  4. Maridal Hanne             (NOR)
  5. Nemchenko Marina     (UKR)
  6. Rose Chelimo              (BRN)
  7. Roselidah Jepketer       (BRN)
  8. Stella Rutto                  (ROU)
  9. Xaba Glenrose             (RSA)
  10. Anley Yeshaneh Asmarech  (ETH)


  1. Abraham Filmon         (GER)
  2. Collins Kgadima          (RSA)
  3. Felix Nadeborn           (GER)
  4. Gavril Stefan Iulius      (ROU)
  5. Keaton Stansfeld         (RSA)
  6. Mevsha Mykola           (UKR)
  7. Nahhay John Wele      (TAN)
  8. Peter Gidoska              (TAN)
  9. Pfeiffer Hendrik           (GER)
  10. Shafar Vitaly                (UKR)
  11. Ulbrich Tobias              (GER)


  • John Vaselyne

    John Vaselyne is the founder of Athletics News. Africa’s only Independent Athletics News website. He has covered World U18 and U20 Championships, World Cross Country Championships, Four Continental Tour Gold Series, Wanda Diamond League. He has passion for the Sport and has over seven years experience in this area of sport. He is also the Leading Athletics Pundit in the Country, having been hosted in ALL leading TV stations in Kenya

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

Cover for Athletics News
Athletics News

Athletics News

We provide an in depth view of local athletics matters, on and off the track and Road, Locally, Regi

More in Athletics