Connect with us


Evans Chebet to battle Sisay Lemma in Boston

Evans Chebet to battle Sisay Lemma in Boston

Kenya’s Evans Chebet will defend his title at the 128th edition of the Boston Marathon slated for April 15, 2024 in Boston, Massachusetts, United States.

The 35 year-old who comes to this race with a life time best of 2:03.00 that he got three years ago at the Valencia Marathon where he took the honors, has set his target on a third feat which will place him among the Boston greats.

The 2019 South American Marathon Champion consistency and dominance make him a strong contender but will first have to get past Sisay Lemma of Ethiopia, who won and crashed Kelvin Kiptum’s course record for the Valencia Marathon with a time of 2:01.48, becoming the fourth man to run under 2:02 clocking. The 33 year-old comes to this race with the fastest time on paper of 2:01.48 that he got in December of last year in Spain.

Lemma, who began his running career at 17 years and initially competed barefoot due to a lack of running shoes, is also the 2021 London Marathon champion and has had mixed experiences in Boston, with a DNF in 2017 and a 30th-place finish in 2019. However, his recent form, including the Valencia victory, indicates he could be a major challenger to Chebet.

The two will also have to deal with Tanzania’s Gabriel Geay, who was the runner-up in last year’s Boston Marathon and also shares an identical personal best of 2:03:00 with Chebet, also set in Valencia. His consistent performances position him as a key prospect in the race.

The organisers have also strengthened the field with Kenya’s Joshua Belet, Ronald Korir, and Cybrian Kotut, as well as Ethiopians Haftu Teklu and Shura Kitata, all boasting sub-2:05 PBs.

Also in the start line includes, the 2021 New York Marathon champion Albert Korir, former Japanese record-holder Suguru Osako, and Norwegian record-holder Sondre Moen.

Morocco’s Zouhair Talbi, fresh off his victory at the Houston Marathon with a course record time of 2:06.39, and multiple NCAA champion Edward Cheserek, are also names to watch out for this years event.


Sisay LemmaETH2:01.48 (Valencia, 2023)
Evans ChebetKEN2:03.00 (Valencia, 2020)
Gabriel GeayTAN2:03.00 (Valencia, 2022) NR
Joshua BeletKEN2:04.18 (Amsterdam, 2023)
Ronald KorirKEN2:04.22 (Berlin, 2023)
Cyprian KotutKEN2:04.34 (Amsterdam, 2023)
Haftu TekluETH2:04.43 (Berlin, 2023)
Shura KitataETH2:04.49 (London, 2018)
John KorirKEN2:05.01 (Chicago, 2022)
Mohamed EsaETH2:05.05 (Amsterdam, 2022)
Suguru OsakoJPN2:05.29 (Tokyo, 2020)
Sondre MoenNOR2:05.48 (Fukuoka, 2017) AR
Filmon AndeERI2:06.38 (Barcelona, 2021)
Zouhair TalbiMAR2:06.39 (Houston, 2024)
Isaac MpofuZIM2:06.48 (Valencia, 2022) NR
Albert KorirKEN2:06.57 (New York City, 2023)
Kento OtsuJPN2:08.15 (Otsu, 2021)
Ryoma TakeuchiJPN2:08.40 (Hofu, 2023)
Segundo JamiECU2:09.05 (Valencia, 2023) NR
Tsegay TuemayERI2:09.07 (Daegu, 2019)
Matt McDonaldUSA2:09.49 (Chicago, 2022)
David NilssonSWE2:10.09 (Valencia, 2020)
Tristan WoodfineCAN2:10.39 (Houston, 2024)
CJ AlbertsonUSA2:10.52 (Duluth, 2022)
Chris ThompsonGBR2:10.52 (London, 2021)
Edward CheserekKEN2:11.07 (New York City, 2023)
Nick HaugerUSA2:12.59 (Sacramento, 2021)
Will NationUSA2:13.24 (Sacramento, 2021)
Joseph WhelanUSA2:13.39 (Duluth, 2019)
Ilie Alexandru CorneschiROU2:13.39 (Berlin, 2022)
Patrick SmythUSA2:13.47 (Sacramento, 2019)
Robert MirandaUSA2:14.43 (Sacramento, 2023)
Kristoffer MugrageUSA2:15.17 (Sacramento, 2022)
Craig HuntUSA2:15.29 (Chandler, 2020)
Primoz KobeSLO2:15.37 (Rotterdam, 2022)*
Aaron GruenUSA2:15.56 (Valley Cottage, 2023)
Lorenz BaumGER2:15.57 (Cologne, 2023)
Taiyo AkiyamaJPN2:16.03 (Tokyo, 2023)
Andrew McCannUSA2:17.07 (Sacramento, 2022)
Matt RandUSA2:17.11 (Valley Cottage, 2023)
Ryan EilerUSA2:17.16 (Philadelphia, 2023)
Prescott LeachUSA2:17.30 (Sacramento, 2023)*
Qianyu ChengCHN2:17.33 (Hangzhou, 2022)
Jason AyrUSA2:18.14 (Houston, 2022)
Grant O’ConnorUSA2:18.28 (Jersey City, 2023)
Mauricio Mendez CruzMEX2:18.36 (Berlin, 2022)
Jared SchatzUSA2:18.49 (Valley Cottage, 2023)
Jonathan KotterUSA2:19.00 (St. George, 2022)
Brad KahlefeldtAUS2:19.30 (Zurich, 2023)*
Miguel MoroneBRA2:19.33 (Berlin, 2023)*
Dustin BybeeUSA2:19.48 (St. George, 2023)*
Giles RubioFRA2:20.14 (Valencia, 2022)*
Joel ConnUSA2:20.16 Duluth, 2023)*
Tyler ButterfieldBER2:21.47 (Otsu, 2019)* NR
Miguel Ferrer MuroESP2:21.47 (Valencia, 2022)*
Roman FostiEST2:22.16 (Tallinn, 2023)*
Meng-Tsung (Steve) ChuTWN2:22.54 (Edmonton, 2023)*
Yemane HaileselassieERIDebut


  • John Vaselyne

    John Vaselyne is the founder of Athletics News. Africa’s only Independent Athletics News website. He has covered World U18 and U20 Championships, World Cross Country Championships, Four Continental Tour Gold Series, Wanda Diamond League. He has passion for the Sport and has over seven years experience in this area of sport. He is also the Leading Athletics Pundit in the Country, having been hosted in ALL leading TV stations in Kenya

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

Cover for Athletics News
Athletics News

Athletics News

We provide an in depth view of local athletics matters, on and off the track and Road, Locally, Regi

More in Athletics